June 27, 2018 Huntsville Rotary Club Minutes

     There were 13 Huntsville Rotarians and 1 Guest today at the last meeting  for the sixth month of year 2018, and, also, the last official meeting as President of the Club for Ken.  President Ken rang the opening bell at 12:35 pm and led us in a noteworthy Prayer of Thanks to our Lord, then we recited the Pledge of Allegiance to our Flag.  S4L Richard introduced his Rotary-Ann and spouse of 45 years, 8 months, and, 20 days, Pat.  

     Our Leader then asked Dan for updates….Sunflowers are blooming, and Dan suggested anyone come over early some morning to see them facing east as the sun comes up.  Weather will be HOT then turn off hotter.  Probably stay dry for a while, too.  Treasurer Mark mentioned that Club quarterly dues will be emailed this weekend.  

     Our program today was sponsored by our President.  Ken gave us some of his personal history.  He was in the Huntsville Club back in the ’70s and served two consecutive years as President in mid-1970′s.  He began his mortuary career 58 years ago, and has been licensed for 53 years, and still working.  He mentioned he was born in Detroit, MI. then his family moved to Independence, MO. and they lived down the street from Harry Truman who would walk by his house occasionally. His memories of Huntsville Rotary was the enjoyment of listening to the Old-Timers stories!  President Ken also stated that International Rotary Presidential theme was “Making a Difference” and Ken’s personal theme was “Service Beyond Self”.  Ken was presented a plaque of recognition from past President Roy, thanking him for his service to our Club.  Ken thanked the Club and will look forward to attending many more meetings.

     The restaurant will be closed next week for vacation. Our next meeting will be Wednesday, July 11th and Jerry Crutchfield will be our new President. He will introduce member Tim Remole for a program.

Members present today:  Phil Brown, Jerry Crutchfield, Dennis Gard, Darrel Hansen, Clay Joiner, Roy Morales-Kuhn, Ken Rathmann, Tim Remole, Merl Riley, Mark Samp, Tim Seidel, Dan Shepherd, and Richard Tregnago.