December 8, 2017 Huntsville Rotary Club Minutes

     There were 16 Huntsville Rotarians and 2 Guests present today when President Ken called the meeting to order at 12:30 p.m.  Darrel was asked to return our Thanks to our Lord in Prayer, followed by our Pledge of Allegiance to our Flag.  Sheriff Mark’s guests were  Shirley Olney & Sara.  Weatherman Dan gave us a fair and dry report for next several days with temps to be near or above normal.

     Secretary-for-Life Richard brought up for discussion that we would be losing two members January 1st, David Samp & John Sommer.  Also, made a motion to remove two other members due to lack of attendance and non payment of dues for a lengthy period of time.  That motion was made by Richard, seconded by Jerry and motion passed by majority voice vote.  Club Secretary Richard noted that Rotary International and District 6040 needed the updated membership file posted on Club Runner in the near future for invoicing purposes for January 1, 2018, the semi-annual reporting for dues payment.  We may end of with 24 members as of the first of the year.

    No program today so discussion was around recent F1 tornado in the county.  A dilapidated building in Higbee was brought down,  and some manufactured homes and a shop building and an earth contact home were also in the path of destruction in the county on CR 2550 and the old HWY 63 south of Renick. .  One lady is in the hospital in critical condition, and others were bruised.  No deaths reported in the County at this time.  The path was similar to a tornado in 2006 that killed 4 people.  The earth contact home just south of Renick was destroyed this time and had been hit by the 2006 tornado, too.  This was a fast moving cold front that was following warm temperatures which created the circumstance for twirling wind.

   Dub gave us the Last Word, then we were adjourned…. Darrel has the program for next Friday.

Members present today:  Phil Brown, Mike Cochran, Jerry Crutchfield, Chris Dady, Darrel Hansen, Dub Hayes, Clay Joiner, Gerald Link, Roy Morales, Mark Nichols, Ken Rathmann,  Mark Samp, Charlie Serio, Dan Shepherd, John Sommer, & Richard Tregnago.