April 6, 2018 Huntsville Rotary Club Minutes

      The first meeting in the 4th month of year 2018 found 13 Huntsville Rotarians and 3 Guests attending a crowded and noisy lunch meeting at Don’s Family Style Restaurant in Huntsville.  President Ken rang the bell at 12:30 pm and asked our new member, Reverend Dennis Gard, to offer a prayer of thanks, followed by addressing our Flag for the Pledge of Allegiance.

     Our Leader requested any Old or New Business and Clay mentioned it was time to pay for our two RYLA attendees.  On a successful motion to vote for approval, our Treasurer will reimburse Clay the $500.00.  Our weather guy was not present today, so we just decided to ignore any bad thoughts and instill warm and sunny days  in our minds.  Visiting Rotarians from Moberly were Bob & Bobby Riley.  Our Guest Speaker is Ryan Eidson.

     In Wayne’s absence, Richard introduce Ryan as the newest staffer at the Moberly Area Economic Development Corporation.  Ryan joined the MAEDC in January this year and holds the title of Entrepreneurship Specialist.  He briefly discussed the new fiber optics firm, Phynx Fiber, and the new industry Mac-Rak , along with the statement that he provides confidential individual business counseling at no charge.   This position is primarily funded with a grant from the University of Missouri Extension to support Small Business & Technology Development.  Ryan will begin to manage the Grow Mid MO, an entrepreneurial network, and will lead MAEDC’s outreach to early stage companies.

     Unfortunately for this meeting, the room was shared with the public as a trial period to assist Josh with the noon time crowds on Friday.  Most attendees today recognized our Club will need to make changes, either in the meeting date, or, try another location.  S4L Richard will send out an email this weekend to our membership asking for input.

      President Ken asked Clay for a Last Word then we were adjourned.  Phil is on the schedule for a program next week.

Members in attendance today were:  Phil Brown, Mike Cochran, Chris Dady, Dennis Gard, Darrel Hansen, Clay Joiner, Roy Morales-Kuhn, Mark Nichols, Ken Rathmann, Tim Remole, Merl Riley, Mark Samp, and Richard Tregnago.